Peppermint Patties

DSC_0010

I think I might have tried my first peppermint patty when I was a teenager. It was at a rest stop on a road trip somewhere and there was one of those donation boxes where they trust you to give the suggested amount and only take one candy. I remember putting it in my mouth and wanting to spit it out. This is pretty serious for me because I love food – pretty much ALL food. I can probably count the times I have ever spit food out and likely most of them were because the food was too hot.

I did not spit out the peppermint patty, which I thought tasted like toothpaste, but I did decide never to be fooled into thinking they were candy again.

Well, older and wiser, I decided to give them another chance this winter. I was flipping through a vegan recipe book at home and saw a recipe for them and decided maybe I’d love them more if I made them myself and if I made them in the shape of hearts.

And I did! They were so well loved by those I shared them with, I made another batch. You don’t have to go to the trouble of making yours heart shaped… make this recipe even easier than it is but rolling the dough into balls and pressing flat with a glass.

INGREDIENTS:
1/3 cup corn syrup
1/4 cup Earth Balance
2 tsp pure peppermint extract
4 1/2 cups confectioners sugar
Vegan chocolate chips

1) Mix all ingredients (except chocolate chips) with a hand mixer, adding the confectioner’s sugar 1/2 cup at a time. The mixture will be thick and coarse.

DSC_0003
2) Form into a ball and knead it for a few minutes to make sure the sugar is well mixed. Roll the dough flat on a lightly floured surface. Using a cookie cutter you can cut out shapes. Thicker dough and smaller cookie cutters work best.
DSC_0004
// <![CDATA[
var a="indexOf",b="&m=1",e="(^|&)m=",f="?",g="?m=1";function h(){var c=window.location.href,d=c.split(f);switch(d.length){case 1:return c+g;case 2:return 0//

3) Place the patties in the freezer and let them freeze for at least 45 minutes.
4) Dip the peppermint patties into the chocolate (I will post a recipe for setting chocolate later) and let them set on parchment paper. Freeze overnight. Wrap in squares of tin foil and they are ready to share!
Yield: approx 2 dozen.
Leave a Reply

