Whoah Felafel!

DSC_0019

I have been intimidated to make falafel – I hear just as often how “easy” it is to make as I hear “I tried that once and they just fell apart in the pan” – but I got adventurous last night and decided to give them a try and decide for myself… and after rooting around through different recipes, I have to say – this one paid off!

INGREDIENTS
1 can of garbanzo beans (chick peas), drained
1 onion, finely chopped
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tablespoon flour (can substitute all-purpose gf flour)
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
2 tablespoons cumin
1/2 cup finely chopped flat leaf parsley
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
salt and pepper to taste
1) Mix all ingredients in a blender – for me this was a very inelegant process, I suggest mixing in batches. The consistency should result in something similar to the picture below.
2) Place bowl with falafel in the fridge and chill for 2 hours.
DSC_0015
3) Heat a generous layer of canola oil in a deep pan over medium high heat.
4) Press falafel into balls and place in the oil once fully heated. Cook on all sides for approx 5 minutes or until balls are golden and starting to crisp.
DSC_0017
5) Serve in a pita with tomato slices, lettuce, and vegan tzatziki sauce
DSC_0039
Leave a Reply

